November Calendar block challenge – Sue Spargo “inspired bird”

image        Another fun bird made from Sue Spargo’s Bird Dance book.  The theme for November calendar block challenge is Thanksgiving.  I prefer to have apple pie instead of pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.  So I found a paper piecing pattern for an apple pie to make the pie in my block.  I used apple printed fabric and 2 shades of beige fabric for the pie crust.  Then I found a bird pattern in the book that I like to make my blackbird sitting on the pie.  I used black wool for the blackbird’s body and then fabric accents to add details to the bird’s body.  I quilted leaves and vines in the background before adding the pie and bird to the calendar block.  Can’t wait to find a bird for next month’s block.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna  image

Leave a Reply

