October Calendar block challenge: Sue Spargo “inspired bird”

image         I am on a roll with my mini-bird quilt blocks.  The theme for the October calendar block is fall.  First I made a pumpkin for the quilt block.  I cut strips of orange fabric and used a washable glue stick to attach the fabric to the pumpkin shape. I used decorative stitches on the orange strips and stem.  Then I used a satin stitch around the outside edge of the pumpkin to make the stitching stand out.  The bird is inspired by Sue Spargo’ Bird Dance book.  I used strips of fabric and cheese cloth for the tail feathers.  I also used mini pom-poms on the bird head.  Keep having fun sewing and quilting.   Donna    image

One thought on “October Calendar block challenge: Sue Spargo “inspired bird”

Leave a Reply

