Fall Tree – Gelli plate printing on fabric

One of our art quilting friends had us over to show us how to do gelli plate printing on fabric.   Here is a video of the process => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AfzYHz48rs

m-gelplate1

I used one of my friends tree templates and printed it once on fabric and then when I lifted up the template I noticed that under the template there was some really cool texture (for the tree bark) that was created by removing the template.   I laid down another piece of fabric over the gelli plate and printed it.   I just love the effect.

Close-up

Close-up

Later I cut out just the tree trunk and fused it to some dark blue batik fabric. I then added borders and mounted the finish product on some stretcher frames.

 

It was a fun gelli plate printing party and I love the results.   I plan to do some more gelli plate printing.

Happy Stitchin,

Mary

 

One thought on “Fall Tree – Gelli plate printing on fabric

  1. That looks fabulous! I try not to venture into things like this that I have NO room for, but I sure enjoy seeing them!

Leave a Reply

