August calendar block challenge – theme: “picnic”

image Here is my August calendar block. The them for August was “picnic”.  Since I already used a watermelon boat in my July block, I needed a different idea. I looked through my food fabric block and found a small piece of the ladybug fabric.  So an idea was born. This was my final wonky log cabin block so I used some cherry fabric on 2 sides and blue fabric to coordinate with June and July blocks.  I made little daisy flowers using free motion quilting.  I used the zig-zag stitch of the Bernina stitch regulator to outline the ladybugs.  The block size is a 11″ square.  I plan to put the 3 summer months together in a row and then add some summer rows from Row by Row experience patterns.  I included a photo of the 3 summer blocks.  I haven’t attached the 3 blocks yet.  I need to make the summer row by row patterns first.  Have fun sewing and quilting.  Donna       image

Leave a Reply

