Mary’s Calendar Block – June

In our last post, you saw Donna’s calendar block.   Here is my June calendar block.

Mary's June Calendar Block

Mary’s June Calendar Block

I decided to do a scottie dog themed calendar quilt so all of the blocks will have a silhouetted scotte dog in it doing something related to the monthly challenge.   The June challenge was Beach/Ocean.   To make it modern, I plan to use simple clean lines and 2 colors per block (+ my neutral which is black, white, & grey).   I already have ideas for the next two months.

  • July – Americana (scottie watching fireworks)
  • August – Picnic (scottie rolling a watermelon ball)

I used a picture of our scottie pup (Ranger) and in Photoshop (PS) I filled him in with black (to create the silhouette).   I then used a beach photo that I had and added a lifeguard chair.   After I created the image in PS, I used the ‘cutout filter’ to simplify the image.   I then printed it and traced it to make an applique pattern.   I plan to use this same technique to create all my blocks.

I’m excited about this challenge (from our little Modern Quilting group).

Happy Stitchin,

Mary

Ps….  the lifeguard chair is not falling over.  I left room for some cropping and seam allowance on the right hand side so I didn’t bother putting in the right legs.

9 thoughts on “Mary’s Calendar Block – June

  1. Absolutely adorable. I feel inspired. Juliet is going through the terrible twos. She is so cute, but so very active. I would love to make a Juliet quilt. It is a great idea. Of course, I can relate to it.

  2. LOVE both the June blocks. Have been mentally toying with materials and ideas for my calendar wallhanging backgound. I don’t want it to be too obtrusive, but not completely boring either . . . hmmmmm

  3. Sidney, Shelby, and I love your challenge quilt. Ranger is lucky to have a talented mom. I’m sure that you have commented on our cross stitch pieces of Scotties each month. We now have your blocks to look forward to seeing.

Leave a Reply

