Modern circle tree quilted wall hanging

DSCN8728               “Christmas in July” but  a little early.  Here is my Christmas wall hanging for this year.  I found the pattern on the Bernina USA website – We All Sew projects.  The pattern needed to be enlarged to 400% so I made a trip to a local office supply shop.  I used Soft Fuse web to fuse the circles and half circles onto the white background – very quick.  Once the circles, star, and tree stand were fused to the background, I used the circle attachment to applique the shapes with the blanket stitch.  To make the quilting more modern, I used straight line quilting to stitch around the outside of the tree shape.  Then I used invisible thread (mono-poly) to do freemotion quilting inside of the tree shape and used white cotton thread to quilt outside the tree shape. Finally I used a chevron fabric for the binding.  The finished quilt is about 30″ by 40″. Keep having fun sewing and quilting.  Donna            DSCN8731

 

 

 

DSCN8730

Leave a Reply

