Quilt as you Go Embroidery design hot pads

DSCN8687                I used a couple of embroidery designs to practice quilting in the hoop with my embroidery machine.  I wasn’t sure how the embroidery would work with so many layers (top fabric, insul-brite fabric, cotton batting, and backing).  I was surprised that the embroidery worked out well.  I used random strips of food fabric to frame the embroidery designs.  First I hooped the wash away stabilizer, then I put the “Quilt as you Go” layers on top of the stabilizer but not in the hoop.  I always use a basting stitch to hold the layers together before I start stitching the embroidery design.  It was easy to get rid of the wash away stabilizer after finishing the machine embroidery.  Just lay the embroidery face down on a towel on the ironing board.  Get some paper towels wet with hot water.  Lay the wet paper towels on the back side of the embroidery and use a hot iron on top of the paper towels.  This method works well to get rid of the stabilizer.  Keep having fun creating and quilting.  Donna      DSCN8690

DSCN8691

2 thoughts on “Quilt as you Go Embroidery design hot pads

Leave a Reply

