Field Poppy

I recently took a 2 day workshop from Vikki Pignatelli on Improvisation using her Crazy About Curves technique.   This Field Poppy quilt was inspired by her class.   The background for the poppy (fabric tile) was a technique from a Gloria  Loughman book that I got from my nephew for Christmas.   The book is titled Radiant Landscapes.

Donna used this same tile technique in her Cyberscape quilt and in a sailboat quilt.   I just love the look of this techinque.   And it is so easy.poppy1

I also added some stuffing in the Poppy to give it a 3-D effect.   You can see it here in the side view of the poppy.

I plan to enter this wall hanging in our local quilt show.

Happy Stitchin,

Mary

Poppy2

Side view

One thought on “Field Poppy

  1. Love the colors and texture! You two make me realize that somewhere in my life I need to make time for some smaller projects!

Leave a Reply

