Selvage snowman

DSCN8014          My guild had a traditional made modern block challenge this month – the block could be a snowman or a snowflake.  So I decided to make a snowman head with a hat and scarf using the snowball block pattern for the snowman’s head.  I decided to make the block bigger to allow room for the hat and scarf.  I made a wonky log cabin block around the snowman’s head using light and dark blue fabrics from my scrap box.  I used white selvages for the snowman’s head, red selvages for the scarf and black and gray selvages for the hat.  Then I looked at the mini wall hanging – the block just kept growing.  Now the snowman needed a body with some stick arms.  So I put together more white selvages to make the body.  Once I added the dark blue inner border and light blue star border, the wall hanging grew to its finished size – a little bigger than a block – lol.  I added some buttons and yarn to the scarf.  I think the snowman looks cute. I plan to hang the wall hanging in my entry hall during the winter months.  It was fun using the selvages to create the snowman.  Keep sewing and creating.  Donna DSCN8012

One thought on “Selvage snowman

Leave a Reply

