Classmate bag (Atkinson Designs) using new techniques

DSCN7729Earlier this month I took a couple of quilting classes from Alice Ridge (Improvisational Curves class and Embellishment class) at my local quilt shop . The classes were lots of fun and I learned new techniques.  I used some of the new techniques that I learned in these classes to make the challenge project for my Trish Stuart’s quarterly project kit.  To make Trish’s challenge project, I had to use some of the 3 fabrics in the kit, bobbin work using the threads included, and add some beads to the project.  I choose the Classmate pattern so that I could have a bag with bling like the one I had made for Mary.  The Classmate pattern has vinyl pockets inside to hold sewing notions that you take to classes.  For the outside of the bag, I made curves using one of the kit fabrics and fabric from my stash (I used “curves” techniques from Alice’s class).  I did bobbin work on the curves using thread from Trish Stuart’s kit and bobbin work technique ideas from Alice.  On the inside of the bag, I used the other 2 fabrics from the kit to make the lining and some of the pockets.  I added some beads from the kit on the outside of the bag – just needed more bling!!  The bag was lots of fun to make.  I really liked the bobbin work – I had been wanting to try it.   It is fun to take new classes – so much inspiration and fun company of friends in the classes.  Have fun sewing and creating.  Donna                                                    DSCN7734DSCN7732

DSCN7735

Leave a Reply

