Modern giraffe baby quilt #2

DSCN7444Our modern quilting guild took the summer off and issued a challenge to the members for the summer:  make a 2 color challenge quilt using 2 colors plus a neutral.   I choose blue, green, and white as my colors for the challenge.  I made a baby quilt using wonky courthouse squares on 2 of the sides of the quilt.  Then I found a picture of a cute giraffe in a transfer design book for fabric painting on t-shirts.  I had used some of the designs from this book to decorate t-shirts and sweatshirts when my boys were young.  I am glad that I saved the book because it has some cute designs that I can use as applique designs on quilts.  Anyway, back to the giraffe.  I took the design to Staples to get it enlarged so that I could use the giraffe on a baby quilt. After piecing the top, I quilted the top before adding the applique giraffe.  I used Soft Fuse for the applique and then used the blanket stitch to secure the raw edge applique.  I can’t wait for our next guild meeting to see all the 2 color challenge quilts.  Have fun sewing and quilting.  DonnaDSCN7443DSCN7448

One thought on “Modern giraffe baby quilt #2

  1. All i can say is WOW. This is fantastic, love the colors, the quilting the placement. It is fantastic. I think you could teach a class to other guilds on this topic, Using Modern techniques with Coloring book ideas. think about it this is how Swirly Girls got started.

Leave a Reply

