Back door bear – pattern by Toni Whitney

During our quilting cruise to Alaska in August 2011 with Stitchin Heaven, I took a class from Toni Whitney.  Toni lives in Montana and sees lots of wildlife from her backyard.  Her bear pattern is a fusible applique project.  I finished the applique part during the cruise but I didn’t have enough experience with thread work to finish the piece.  Last weekend, I chose this project for my UFO to finish.  I had fun using different threads and free motion quilting to add dimension to the piece.  I found some fabric with bear paws to use for a border that I had bought at Changing Tides quilt shop in Juneau, Alaska.  Of course the bear needed beady eyes – I used some small black shiny buttons.  Beware, the bear is looking at you.  Donna      DSCN7209

DSCN7211

One thought on “Back door bear – pattern by Toni Whitney

Leave a Reply

