Make Modern challenge – Heart

Our Modern Quilt Guild (Cape Fear Modern Quilt Guild) is starting a monthly challenge.   The challenge?  Take a traditional quilt block and make it “Modern”.   Our 1st challenge was a HEART block.     Here is my block.   I used the “paper pieced” technique for this block.   My 1st paper pieced project.

blue-heart

So what do I think of this “paper piecing” technique?  I found that you really have to think differently to do “paper piecing” as you kinda do things backwards.   So I guess it is a good technique to exercise the brain.  Better than crossword puzzles.  I just saying.

Now I’m not really into the “heart’s” so I will probably use this on the back of a boy baby quilt (sometime in the future) as a quilt label and add the name of the baby in the grey part of the heart.

I really enjoy this new challenge as it is fun to find inspiration on the web and put your twist on it.

Happy Stitch’n.  Mary

Leave a Reply

