McKenna Ryan’s “All Cooped Up” wall hanging

I love McKenna Ryan patterns.   Here is one applique block (“Daisy Daze”) from her “All Cooped Up” pattern.

chick close-up

chick1

After I appliqued the chick block, I added some off center borders.

I decided to try seminole piecing for the chain border (top & right).   I like to try a new technique with each piece I create.   This one.. seminole piecing was the new technique.This technique, while simple, is very challenging to get the points to line up.

It still needed something, so after staring at it for awhile and looking through our stash, I found some seed packet fabric and cut out four of them to applique on to the green border.

Finally I used various techniques to quilt the piece (including some free motion quilting) and added a little embroidery floss to the flower centers and for the chick’s eye.

This is now my “looking forward to spring” wall hanging.

chick2 Happy Stitch’n,   Mary

One thought on “McKenna Ryan’s “All Cooped Up” wall hanging

Leave a Reply

