Scottie Christmas Quilt

I just finished my Christmas in July Scottie Quilt.

Image

“Trimming the Tree”

Donna gave this pattern to me as a present last year for Christmas.   The pattern was huge.  The scotties were at least 3X larger than my scottie.   I took the pattern to a copier store and reduced it by 40%.   Now it is a prefect wall hanging size.   What’s the deal with some of the huge patterns?   They do use more fabric & thread.. so maybe that explains it.

I really like applique and since I have a 5mo old scottie puppy, this project was close to my heart.  It was also another 1st for me.  This is the 1st project that I did some free motion quilting (on the white background).   Now, my stitches are not even but it still looks great (if you don’t look too closely).

At Donna’s suggestion, I used a little fun fur (used in knitting scarfs and can be found in your local craft store) to embellish the tree.  I think it made a nice garland and gave the tree some dimension.

Pattern can be found from Mad Dog Marketing.  http://www.quiltingbookspatternsandnotions.com/publishers.php?category=Mad%20Dog%20Marketing

Here are a couple of close-up shots of it.    Happy Stitching.   Mary

ImageImage

7 thoughts on “Scottie Christmas Quilt

Leave a Reply

