T-shirt quilt

I had a box full of old t-shirts from my son’s summer jobs at parks and restaurants and from his high school and college.  So I decided to try making a t-shirt quilt for his birthday this year in May.  I cut out 2 sizes of squares from the t-shirts for the quilt – about 13″ squares and 6″ squares.  I used lightweight fusible interfacing on the back of the t-shirt squares.  I had to make sure I paid attention to the stretch of the shirts and interfacing.  I was amazed at how flat the squares were once I had fused on the interfacing.   I used my design wall to create the design and then added solid fabrics in colors to match some of the t-shirts.  I made sure that I used some orange and blue for his high school colors and green for his college. The quilt is about the size of a twin bed.   I used flannel for the back of the quilt. I really liked the design of the quilt and my son did too.

Donna

                

Leave a Reply

