Venice inspired quilt square

When I turned 50, Donna and I went to Venice.  I loved Venice.   We decided that one of the walls in our house should be dedicated to displaying photos and quilt squares/wall hangings from our world travels.

I already had one of my Venice photos printed and mounted under acrylic and so I used it for inspiration for a quilt square.    I stapled the quilt square onto a stretcher frame and then hung them both on our display rods.

The quilt square is from a craftsy.com and the fabric choices include some Venice fabric.  I added a little white piping inner borders (since I had recently taken a class in piping and wanted more practice) and the outer border fabric kinda looks like stone (to reflect the stone bridges).    The quilting was curved lines to mimic the arched bridges.

It was a fun project.

~Mary

Image

Inspiration photo

Image

Venice inspired Quilt square

Wall display for travel photos and quilt squares

2 thoughts on “Venice inspired quilt square

Leave a Reply

